Home Forums Project Management QA General QA Questions, ask them here

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of scar3crow scar3crow 3 years, 8 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of scar3crow
    scar3crow
    Participant

Over six years experience in QA on a professional level, the majority of which was in games (over 70 games, numerous platforms). I’ve just about ran the gamut of test responsibilities, so if you have any questions about considering QA, tracking coverage, or how to document an issue, feel free to let loose.

Profile photo of Tamachan87
    Tamachan87
    Participant

I work as a QA analyst for a desktop application company, so a lot of mine are going to be comparisons, sorry. 😛

What would you say is the biggest difference between QA for traditional software and games?

Is there any difference between lodging defects/bugs for traditional software (ie. What were you doing? What happened? What did you expect to happen?) and games?

Do you think the misconception that people going into game testing have (bro, get paid to totally play games all day) has had a detrimental effect on the quality of games?

Does the recent trend of Early Access put QA roles into jeopardy?

How does a game as buggy as Assassin’s Creed: Unity pass QA?

Last one: What’s the funniest bug you’ve found?

Profile photo of scar3crow
    scar3crow
    Participant

The biggest difference is the finite limits and thus the ability to cover an application versus a game. Applications are meant to be tools, finite, discoverable, consistent, with no surprises. Games however mask their variables and functions as much as possible, through intentionally complex layers, dice rolls, and aspects like AI and loot drops. Because of this, game testing involves a lot more concerns about race conditions.