Home Forums Support, Technical Issues and Suggestions Suggestion: Game engines list

This topic contains 6 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Tushant Mirchandani Tushant Mirchandani 3 years, 3 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of darkshade2095
    darkshade2095
    Participant

I’ve seen the game engine part on the resources list.
    But maybe we need a more comprehensible list of game engines (that are free to use), like Unity 5, Unreal engine 4, source engine 2, RPG maker etc.
    Maybe some people can pitch in on what are the strengths and weaknesses of these engines.

It might help starting indies/hobbyist pick the right engine for their game.

I am a starting hobbyist so i just picked Unity because i thought it had the most tutorials for it.

Profile photo of Frank-Erik
    Frank-Erik
    Participant

It’s worth mentioning; for those individuals who are looking to do professional work on games, picking an engine is akin to leveling up a skill in [generic RPG]. The more work you put into one engine, the better you will be with it. Previous experience on engines have proven to generate greater success on a game, so if one tries to get a job as a developer it is important to take stock in fundamental skills. Limiting yourself to one engine could easily exclude yourself from a lot of job offers.

As a hobbyist it’s all about picking something you enjoy working with. Professionally you need to be more strategic.

Right now is a good time as CryEngine, Unity 3D and Unreal are all in sharp competition and with some hopefuls on the way.

From what I hear, I’m a designer so take my word with a grain of salt, CryEngine has had some major issues with it’s code, but looks absolutely stunning if you have 3D-models made by really great artisans. But it’s graphics aside, if you don’t have that you have to weigh it on other merits. My experience with it is limited.